<p>Visit the <a href="https://www.georgetown.edu/operating-status">operating status page</a> for information on the university's current operating status.</p>
View of stained glass with the Georgetown University seal

Faculty, Staff Recognized for Contributions During 2015-2016 Academic Year

May 25, 2016 – Georgetown annually recognizes the outstanding service and performance of faculty and staff during the 2015-2016 academic year. Awardees include:

University Award

2016 Dorothy Brown Award: Rev. Kevin O’Brien, S.J., professor of theology and vie president of mission and ministry

Georgetown College

Edward B. Bunn Award for Faculty Excellence: Heidi Elmendorf, associate professor of biology, director of undergraduate students and studies in biology and director of science education outreach

Faculty of Languages and Linguistics Distinguished Service Award: Barbara Mujica, professor of Spanish and Portuguese

McCourt School of Public Policy

Leslie Whittington Award: Barbara Schone, teaching professor of public policy and faculty director of the Master of Public Policy Program  

McDonough School of Business

Faculty Research Award: Christopher Rider, assistant professor of strategy

Joseph F. Le Moine Award for Undergraduate and Graduate Teaching Excellence:

  • Lynn Lanz Doran, teaching professor of finance
  • Bardia Kamrad, professor of operations and information management

Dean’s Distinguished Service Award: William Baber, professor of accounting

Academic Council Professor of the Year Student Choice Award: George Comer, associate professor of finance

Peter W. Gonzalez Jr. Award for Excellence in Adjunct Faculty Teaching: Craig O’Connor, adjunct professor

MBA Excellence in Teaching Award: Melissa Bradley, adjunct professor

Ronald L. Smith Distinguished Service Award from the MBA Program: Brian Cain, senior assistant director of MBA programs.

School of Continuing Studies

Dean’s Service Award:

  • Walter Rankin, deputy dean for the School of Continuing Studies, interim registrar and senior advisor to the provost for accreditation and special projects
  • Denise Keyes, senior associate dean for the Division of Professional Communications
  • Michelle Siemietkowski, director for graduate and undergraduate student formation in the Office of Mission and Ministry
  • David Currie, manager of digital classrooms and broadcast for the School of Continuing Studies

Outstanding Master’s in Professional Studies Faculty Award:

  • Sarah Kaczmarek, Center for Continuing and Professional Education
  • Ted Allen, Global Strategic Communications
  • Stuart Damon, Hospitality Management
  • Marcelline Babicz, Human Resources Management
  • Linda Kramer Jennings, Journalism
  • Joseph Firschein, Real Estate
  • Keith Scully, Sports Industry Management
  • Ramy Guirguis, Systems Engineering Management
  • Jean Stanford, Technology Management
  • Michael Stevens, Urban & Regional Planning
  • Carol Blymire, Public Relations & Corporate Communications
  • Kirby Wedekind, Emergency & Disaster Management

Outstanding Bachelor of Arts in Liberal Studies Faculty Award: Gregory Havrilak, assistant teaching professor of liberal studies

Outstanding Master of Arts in Liberal Studies Faculty Award: Jo Ann Moran Cruz, associate professor of history

School of Foreign Service

Faculty of the Year Award: Rev. Dennis McManus, visiting associate professor of foreign service

Constantine E. McGuire Medal: Elizabeth Stephen, associate professor of demography

School of Medicine

Leonard Tow Humanism Award in Medicine: Dr. Ranit Mishori, professor of family medicine

Magis Society of Master Teachers:

  • Dr. Bassem Haddad, professor of oncology
  • Dr. Joseph Timpone, associate professor of medicine

 Kaiser Permanente Awards:

  • Stefano Vicini, professor of pharmacology and neuroscience
  • Dr. Rebecca Evangelista, associate professor of surgery

Mother of Pearl Award: Dr. John Costello, general surgery resident at Medstar Georgetown University Hospital

Circle Grants:

  • Donna Cameron, associate professor of family medicine, and Dr. Kim Bullock, associate professor of family medicine, “Fostering Professional Identity Formation in M1s: Shining Light on Unconscious Bias in Medical Education and Clinical Settings”


  • Beth Peshkin, professor of population sciences; Dean Rosenthal, professor of biochemistry and molecular and cellular biology; Carlos Suarez-Quian, professor of biochemistry and molecular and cellular biology, “Cadaver Exome Sequencing: Feasibility and Curriculum Development”

The Geza M. Illes Award: Dr. Aykut Üren, professor of molecular onocology

Physiology Teacher of the Year Award: Dr. Charles Read, professor of medicine

The Doctoring Award: Stacey Kaltman, professor of psychiatry

School of Nursing & Health Studies

Outstanding Achievement In Research: Irene Jillson, assistant professor of nursing

Outstanding Faculty Achievement in Education:

  • Carrie Bowman Dalley, instructor in the nurse anesthesia program
  • Jason Tilan, assistant professor of nursing and human science