<p>Visit the <a href="https://www.georgetown.edu/operating-status">operating status page</a> for information on the university's current operating status.</p>
View of stained glass with the Georgetown University seal

Five Georgetown Graduates Elected to Congress

November 7, 2012 – Five Georgetown alumni were newly elected to the U.S. House of Representatives last night and nine were reelected as President Barack Obama was swept into office for another four years.

One alumnus, John Barrasso (R-Wyo.) (C’74, M’78), was reelected to the U.S. Senate and one alumna – Maize K. Hirono (D-Hawaii) (L'78) was elected to the U.S. Senate after serving in the House. D.C. Del. Eleanor Holmes Norton, a Georgetown Law Center professor, also was reelected to the House.

“We are proud of and grateful to the many distinguished alumni who have committed themselves to lives of service, following our Jesuit tradition of being women and men for others,” said Georgetown President John. J. DeGioia. “We congratulate them on their success and wish them all the best in their future endeavors.” 

The newly elected congress members are:

  • Ann McLane Kuster (D-N.H.) 2nd District (L’84)
  • Hakeem Jeffries (D-N.Y.) 8th District (G’94)
  • Lois Frankel (D-Fla.) 22nd District (L’73)
  • John Delaney (D-Md.) 6th District (L’88)
  • Filemon Vela (D-Texas) 34th District (C’85)

Reelected to the U.S. House of Representatives were:

  • David Cicilline (D-R.I.) 1st District (L’86)
  • Henry Cuellar (D-Texas) 28th District (F’78)
  • John Dingell (D-Mich.) 15th District (C’49, L’52)
  • Jeff Fortenberry (R-Neb.) 1st District (G’86)
  • Steny Hoyer (D-Md.) 5th District (L’66)
  • Mick Mulvaney (R-S.C.) 5th District (F’89)
  • Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.) 8th District (L’90)
  • Pete Visclosky (D-Ind.) 1st District (L’82)
  • Frank Wolf (R-Va.) 10th District (L’65)