<p>Visit the <a href="https://www.georgetown.edu/operating-status">operating status page</a> for information on the university's current operating status.</p>
View of stained glass with the Georgetown University seal

Faculty, Staff Recognized for 2014-2015 Outstanding Contributions

May 20, 2015 – Georgetown annually recognizes the outstanding service and performance of faculty and staff during the academic year. More than 55 members of the university community received awards for their contributions to Georgetown during the 2014-2015 academic year. Awardees include:

University Award

2015 Dorothy Brown Award: Iwona Sadowska, Slavic languages faculty member and director of Polish studies

Georgetown College

Edward B. Bunn Award for Faculty Excellence: Marcia Chatelain, assistant professor of history

Faculty of Languages and Linguistics Distinguished Service Award: Heidi Byrnes, George M. Roth Distinguished Professor of German

Law Center

Faculty Member of the Year: Craig Hoffman, professor of law

David J. McCarthy Award for Excellence in Administrative Service: Denise Sangster, registrar for the dean of students

Carol Quindlen O’Neil Award: Michael Goldman, Jewish chaplain

Special Merit Awards:

  • Dancia Broadie, GoCard coordinator
  • Larry Church, sergeant and shift commander in public safety
  • Marie Ellis, sergeant and shift commander in public safety
  • Brent Futrell, director of design in strategic development and external affairs
  • Maura Grant Hayes, coordinator of scheduling and student programs
  • Kim Matthews, executive assistant in the Office of Public Interest and Community Service
  • Susanna Fix McCrea, faculty manuscript editor

Special Performance Awards:

  • Douglas Adgerson, multimedia technologist
  • Matthew Bates, director of IT operations and information security officer
  • Bonnie Boyle, office manager for residence life
  • Maryam Fleet, assistant registrar for budget and operations
  • Debra Floyd, administrator in the Early Learning Center
  • Jamiece Johnson, academic records coordinator
  • Dustin Nigro, Tier 3 senior technician
  • Lisa Pollan, administrative assistant in the Community Justice Clinic
  • Laura Addiego Prospero, web application developer in the law library
  • Oi Ling Yu, head of ordering unit in the law library

McCourt School of Public Policy

Leslie Whittington Award: Griffin Thompson, adjunct professor of public policy

Community Contribution Award: Leslie Evertz, assistant dean for academic and student affairs

McDonough School of Business

Faculty Research Award: Jess Cornaggia, assistant professor of business

Joseph F. Le Moine Award for Undergraduate and Graduate Teaching Excellence: Melissa Bradley, professor of the practice in business

Dean’s Distinguished Service Award: Patricia Fairfield, associate professor of business

Academic Council Professor of the Year Student Choice Award: Charles Skuba, professor of the practice in international business and marketing

Peter W. Gonzalez Jr. Award for Excellence in Adjunct Faculty Teaching: Michael Ryan, adjunct professor of business

Ronald L. Smith Distinguished Service Award from the MBA Program: Matt Cypher, professor of the practice and director of the Real Estate Initiative 

School of Continuing Studies

Dean’s Service Award:

  • Michelle Leila Sidawy, marketing manager
  • Robert Sullivan III, program manager, bachelor of arts in liberal studies;
  • Jessica Vanderhoff, head librarian
  • Crystal Watkins, assistant dean in the Office of Academic Affairs and Compliance

Outstanding Master’s in Professional Studies Faculty Award:

  • Joe Briggs, sports industry management
  • Barbara Coons, public relations and corporate communications
  • Brian Healy, journalism
  • Stephen Johnson, emergency and disaster management
  • Joshua Murphy, urban and regional planning
  • Kelly O'Connor, Center for Continuing and Professional Education
  • Eric Olesen, human resources management
  • Scott Price, real estate
  • Lisa Schlosser, technology management

Outstanding Bachelor of Arts in Liberal Studies Faculty Award: Mark Gray, research associate professor of liberal studies

Outstanding Master of Arts in Liberal Studies Faculty Award: Rory Quirk, faculty member in doctoral and master’s liberal studies program

School of Foreign Service

Faculty of the Year Award: James Raymond Vreeland, professor of foreign service

Constantine E. McGuire Medal: Anthony Clark Arend, professor of government and director of the Master of Science in Foreign Service Program

School of Medicine

Leonard Tow Humanism Award in Medicine: Dr. Michael Adams, professor of medicine

Magis Society of Master Teachers:

  • Carolyn Hurley, professor of oncology and microbiology and immunology
  • Dr. Miriam Toporowicz, professor of pediatrics

Kaiser Permanente Awards:

  • Dr. Aykut Uren, associate professor of oncology
  • Dr. Michael Donnelly, associate professor of medicine

Mother of Pearl Award: Dr. Steven Spitz, professor of neurosurgery

Circle Grants:

  • “Fostering M1 Academic Success: Coaching for Resiliency,” Donna Cameron
  • “Medical Student Disaster Response Team,” Dr. Lauren Wiesner and Dr. Eric Glasser
  • “Managing Curricular Change: An Exploration of the Educational Culture at Georgetown University School of Medicine,” Jessica Jones and William Pluta
  • “Using Interdisciplinary Learning Circles to Enhance Teaching of Advanced Communication Skills,” Stacey Kaltman and Joan Burggraf Riley

School of Nursing & Health Studies

Faculty Achievement Award:

  • Joan Burggraf Riley, associate professor of human science and nursing and Engelhard Senior Scholar
  • Carol Taylor, professor of medicine and nursing and senior research scholar in the Kennedy Institute of Ethics