<p>Visit the <a href="https://www.georgetown.edu/operating-status">operating status page</a> for information on the university's current operating status.</p>
View of stained glass with the Georgetown University seal

Faculty, Staff Recognized for 2016-2017 Outstanding Contributions

May 31, 2017 – Georgetown annually recognizes the outstanding service and performance of faculty and staff during the academic year. More than 45 members of the university community received awards for their contributions to Georgetown during the 2016-2017 academic year. Awardees include:

University-wide Award

2017 Dorothy Brown Award: Heidi Elmendorf, associate professor of biology, director of undergraduate students and director of science education outreach in the biology department

Georgetown College

  • Edward B. Bunn Award for Faculty Excellence: Rev. Matthew Carnes, S.J., associate professor of government and director of the Center for Latin American Studies
  • Faculty of Languages and Linguistics Distinguished Service Award: Nicoletta Pireddu, professor of Italian

McCourt School of Public Policy

Leslie Whittington Award: Paasha Mahdavi, assistant professor of public policy

McDonough School of Business

  • The Faculty Research Award: Simon Blanchard, assistant professor of marketing
  • Joseph F. Lemoine Award for Undergraduate and Graduate Teaching Excellence: Lee F. Pinkowitz, associate professor of finance
  • Faculty Award for Extraordinary Service: Evelyn Jean Williams, teaching professor of management
  • Peter W. Gonzalez, Jr. Award for Excellence in Adjunct Faculty Teaching: Allyson Adrian, adjunct professor of management
  • Academic Council Professor of the Year Student Choice Award: Patricia Fairfield, associate professor of accounting 

School of Continuing Studies

Dean’s Service Award:

  • Joshua Dermott, associate counsel
  • Jamie Kralovec, program director for the Master of Professional Studies in Urban and Regional Planning 
  • Shenita Ray, director of online operations in the digital strategy department
  • Cherilyn Winker, project manager in the marketing department

Outstanding Faculty Award:

  • Scott Krawczyk, Bachelor of Arts in Liberal Studies
  • Gladys Benson White, Graduate Liberal Studies
  • Carole Feldman, Master of Professional Studies in Journalism
  • Mia Vallo, Master of Professional Studies in Public Relations and Corporate Communications
  • Peter Bockelman, Master of Professional Studies in Sports Industry Management
  • Dietmar Georg, Master of Professional Studies in Real Estate
  • George Ho, Master of Professional Studies in Human Resources Management
  • Giovanni Carnaroli, Master of Professional Studies in Technology Management
  • Adam Firestone, Master of Professional Studies in Systems Engineering Management
  • Jess Zimbabwe, Master of Professional Studies in Urban and Regional Planning
  • Yuri Horowitz, Master of Professional Studies in Global Hospitality Leadership
  • Catherine Copley, Master of Professional Studies in Integrated Marketing Communications
  • Simon Cleveland, Master of Professional Studies in Project Management
  • Jeffrey Stern, Master of Professional Studies in Emergency and Disaster Management
  • Gregg Jones, Executive Master of Professional Studies Emergency and Disaster Management
  • Jessica Pantages, Executive Master of Professional Studies Global Strategic Communications
  • Benjamin Bengfort, Center for Continuing and Professional Education

School of Foreign Service

  • Faculty of the Year Award: Lahra Smith, associate professor of foreign service
  • Constantine E. McGuire Medal: Mitch Kaneda, associate dean and director of the undergraduate program
  • SFS Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching: Kate Chandler, assistant professor of culture and politics
  • SFS Faculty Award for Excellence in Mentoring: Mark Giordano, director of the Program in Science, Technology and International Affairs

School of Medicine

Leonard Tow Humanism Award in Medicine: Dr. Sarah Kureshi, assistant professor of family medicine

Master Teachers:

  • Mary Beth Martin, professor of oncology and biochemistry and molecular and cellular biology
  • Dr. John Pahira, professor of urology

Kaiser Permanente Awards:

  • Jessica Jones, associate professor of biochemistry and molecular and cellular biology
  • Dr. Deborah Topol, associate professor of medicine

Mother of Pearl Award: Dr. Joe Ferguson, orthopedic surgery department

Circle Grants:

  • “Build & Belong: Interventions for Reducing Georgetown Medical Students’ Perceptions of Isolation and Stress by Improving A Sense of Belonging,” Susan Cheng, senior associate dean of diversity and inclusion; David Taylor, associate dean for student learning; and Kristi Graves, associate professor of oncology
  • “Pediatric Resuscitation Reinforcement with a Cognitive Aid,” Dr. Sangeeta Wood; Dr. Autumn Graham; and Dr. J.V. Nable, assistant professor of emergency medicine
  • “Literature and Medicine Track Enhancement and Evaluation: Decreasing Burnout and Increasing Cognitive Empathy in Medical Students,” Dr. Daniel Marchalik; Dr. Mary Furlong, professor of pathology; and Dr. Dennis Murphy, assistant professor of medicine

School of Nursing & Health Studies

Faculty Achievement Award:

  • Jan LaRocque, assistant professor of human science 
  • Myriam Vuckovic, assistant professor of international health