<p>Visit the <a href="https://www.georgetown.edu/operating-status">operating status page</a> for information on the university's current operating status.</p>
View of stained glass with the Georgetown University seal

Four Georgetown Alumni Win Election to Congress in Midterm Elections

November 8, 2018 – Four Georgetown alumni won spots in the 116th United States Congress in the midterm elections this past Tuesday. They join the more than two dozen other Georgetown alumni who serve in Congress.

The new members of U.S. House of Representatives include Democrats Rebecca “Mikie” Sherrill (L’07) in New Jersey’s 11th District, Xochitl Torres Small (SFS’07) in New Mexico's 2nd District and Lori Trahan (SFS’95) in Massachusetts’ 3rd District, and Republican Bryan Steil (B’03) in Wisconsin's 1st district.

Another woman with a Georgetown connection projected to win is Lauren Underwood, a Democrat and the first woman of color to represent Illinois’ 14th District. She served as an adjunct professor at the School of Nursing & Health Studies for three years.

Returning to the Senate are Republican Sen. John Barrasso (C’74, M’78) representing Wyoming, and Democrat Sen. Mazie Hirono (L’78) representing Hawaii.

A total of 27 Georgetown graduates currently serve in the 115th Congress, which began in January 2017 and ends on Jan. 3, 2019 when the new Congress is sworn in.

"Georgetown helps educate public servants, many of whom serve in Congress and the Administration and in state and local offices around the country," says Katy Button, Georgetown's associate vice president for federal government relations. "We are proud of the unique launching point Georgetown provides for careers in public service.”

All of Georgetown’s incumbent members of the House are expected to return except for Republican Rep. Barbara Comstock (L’86) representing Virginia’s 10th District, and Republican Rep. John Faso (L’79), representing New York in the 19th District.

Democrat Rep. John Delaney (L’88) also will not return, as he is running for president in the 2020 general election and chose not to run for re-election in Maryland’s 6th District.