<p>Visit the <a href="https://www.georgetown.edu/operating-status">operating status page</a> for information on the university's current operating status.</p>
View of stained glass with the Georgetown University seal

Faculty, Staff Recognized For Contributions As Academic Year Ends

May 30, 2018 – Georgetown annually recognizes the outstanding service and performance of faculty and staff during the academic year. This year’s awardees include:

University Awards

Faculty Senate Service Award: Lisa Krim, senior advisor to the president for faculty relations
Dorothy Brown Award: Kirsten Anderson, teaching professor of accounting in the McDonough School of Business

Georgetown College

Edward B. Bunn Award for Faculty Excellence: Soyica Colbert, associate professor and chair of performing arts

McCourt School Of Public Policy

Leslie Whittington Award: Andreas Kern, assistant teaching professor of public policy

McDonough School Of Business

Faculty Research Award: Rebecca Hamilton, Michael and Robin Psaros Endowed Chair in Business Administration and professor of marketing
Joseph F. Le Moine Award for Undergraduate and Graduate Teaching Excellence: Karthik Easwar, assistant teaching professor of marketing
Faculty Award for Extraordinary Service: Alyssa Lovegrove, associate director, Georgetown Entrepreneurship Initiative
Academic Council Professor of the Year Student Choice Award: Ronald Goodstein, associate professor of marketing
Peter W. Gonzalez Jr. Award for Excellence in Adjunct Faculty Teaching: David Dunahay, adjunct professor of strategy
2018 Magis Medal: Douglas McCabe, professor of management

School Of Continuing Studies

Dean’s Service Award:

  • Andrew Glass, director of communications
  • LeNaya Hezel, director of the veterans office
  • Frederic Lemieux, faculty director and professor of the practice for applied intelligence
  • Mary Novak, associate director for Ignatian Formation
  • Jeremy Stanton, chief digital officer

Bachelor of Arts in Liberal Studies Outstanding Faculty Award: Christopher Shinn, lecturer
Graduate Liberal Studies Outstanding Faculty Award: Lauve Steenhuisen teaching professor
MPS in Journalism Outstanding Faculty Award: Alan Bjerga, lecturer
MPS in Public Relations and Corporate Communications Outstanding Faculty Award: Jon Judah, lecturer
MPS in Sports Industry Management Outstanding Faculty Award: Kathy Devine, lecturer
MPS in Real Estate Outstanding Faculty Award: Thomas Michael Cardman, lecturer
MPS in Human Resources Management Outstanding Faculty Award: Jacquelyn Bsharah, lecturer
MPS in Technology Management Outstanding Faculty Award: Sarah McCue, lecturer
MPS in Systems Engineering Management Outstanding Faculty Award: Robert Pitsko, adjunct lecturer
MPS in Urban and Regional Planning Outstanding Faculty Award: Ellen McCarthy, lecturer
MPS in Global Hospitality Leadership Outstanding Faculty Award: Robert Lannan, adjunct lecturer
MPS in Integrated Marketing Communications Outstanding Faculty Award: Andrea Koslow, lecturer
MPS in Project Management Outstanding Faculty Award: Martin Reed, Ph.D., lecturer
EMPS in Program and Portfolio Management Outstanding Faculty Award: Arthur Dong, teaching professor
MPS in Emergency and Disaster Management Outstanding Faculty Award: Hannah Vick, lecturer
EMPS in Emergency and Disaster Management Outstanding Faculty Award: David Kaufman, lecturer
EMPS in Global Strategic Communications Outstanding Faculty Award: Lisa Darr-Feldner, assistant professor of the practice and faculty director
MPS in Applied Intelligence Outstanding Faculty Award: Jorhena Thomas, adjunct lecturer

School Of Foreign Service

Faculty of the Year Award: Diana Kapiszewski, associate professor of government
Constantine E. McGuire Medal: Victor Cha, professor and D.S. Song-KF Endowed Chair in Government and International Affairs and director of Asian studies
Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching: George Shambaugh, associate professor of international affairs and government
Faculty Award for Excellence in Mentoring: Tamara Sonn, Hamad Bin Khalifa Al-Thani Professor of the History of Islam
Dean's Award for Excellence in Academic Administration: Rosaelena O'Neil, deputy director of the International Business Diplomacy Program

School Of Medicine

Leonard Tow Humanism Award in Medicine: Dr. Eileen Moore, associate professor of medicine
Magis Society of Masters Teachers:

  • Dr. Jacqueline Jonklaas, professor of medicine
  • Dr. Cirrelda Cooper, professor of radiology

Kaiser Permanente Awards:

  • Thomas Sherman, professor of pharmacology
  • Dr. Dennis Murphy, assistant professor of medicine

Mother of Pearl Award:

  • Dr. Michael Sosin, resident in the surgery department
  • Dr. William Denney Zimmerman, resident in the neurology department

Circle Grants:

  • Dr. Shimae Fitzgibbons and Dr. Ornela A. Dervishaj, “Residents as Teachers”
  • Dr. Yumi Jarris, Dr. Richard Waldhorn, John Penner and Dr. Sarah Kureshi, “Screening for the Social Determinants of Health: Moving from Knowledge to Action Through Community Engagement”
  • Stacey Kaltman, Dr. Erin Farrish, Dr. Ted Liao, “Using Video Technology to Enhance Teaching of Clinical Skills”

Faculty Lambda Award: Dr. Andrea Singer

Georgetown Law

Frank F. Flegal Excellence in Teaching Award: Lilian Faulhaber, associate professor of law
Charles Fahy Distinguished Professor Award for the J.D. Program: Kondi Kleinman, adjunct professor
Fahy Distinguished Professor Award for Graduate Programs: Judge Florence Y. Pan of the District of Columbia Superior Court, adjunct professor
Entrepreneurial Excellence Award for Lifetime Achievement: Everett Bellamy, adjunct professor

Special Merit Awards:

  • Jose Luis Davila Gonzalez, Office of Career Strategy
  • Caroline Kariemu, Financial Affairs
  • Kara Passmore, JD Academic Services
  • Rachel Torcivia, Development

Special Performance Award:

  • Dominique Brown, JD Academic Services
  • Andy Gryll, Development
  • Christine Hammer, Special Events
  • Sarah Hulsey, JD Academic Services
  • Tiffany Joly, Office of Graduate Programs
  • Morgan Lynn-Alesker, Office of Public Interest and Community Service
  • Smita Parkhe, Law Library
  • Helen Ricci, Public Safety
  • Erin Spence, Alumni Affairs
  • Andrea Waters, Office of Career Strategy
  • Lisa Whittaker, Continuing Legal Education

Carol Quindlen O’Neil Award: Corazon Osborne

School of Nursing & Health Studies 

Outstanding Faculty Achievement in Education:

  • Ted M. Nelson, assistant professor of human science
  • Dr. Robert Carr, associate professor of health systems administration
  • Christopher J. King, assistant professor of health systems administration