Skip to main content

Faculty and Staff Recognized for Excellence

Faculty Award Photo

May 24, 2011 – Each year, Georgetown recognizes the outstanding service and performance of faculty and staff during the academic year. More than 55 members of the university community received awards for their contributions to the university during 2010-2011. Awardees include:

University Award

2011 Dorothy Brown Award: Rev. Matthew Carnes, S.J., assistant professor of government


Georgetown College

Edward B. Bunn Award for Faculty Excellence: Rev. Matthew Carnes, S.J. assistant professor of government

Faculty of Languages and Linguistics Distinguished Service Award: Peter Pfeiffer, professor and chair of the German department.


Georgetown Public Policy Institute

Leslie Whittington Award: Donald Marron, professor of public policy


Graduate School of Arts and Sciences

Distinguished Achievement in Research Award: Victor Cha, D.S. Song-Korea Foundation Chair in Asian Studies and Government

Distinguished Career in Research Award: Miklos Kertesz, professor of chemistry


Law Center

Faculty Member of the Year: Louis Michael Seidman, professor of law

David J. McCarthy Award for Excellence in Administrative Service: Peter Brown, director of facilities management

Carol Quindlen O’Neil Award: Mitos Parabot, executive assistant in the dean’s office

Special Merit Awards: Louis Fine, registrar’s office; Eric Hersch, facilities management; Christopher Jewell, information systems technology; Mitos Parabot, dean’s office; Ann W. Parks, alumni, development and public relations; and Beverly Sapp, student life

Special Performance Awards: Susanna Mayer, law library; Olivia Nopakaew, information systems technology; Dominique Parker, juris doctorate academic services; Yelena Rodríguez, law library; and Rachel Rushforth, juris doctorate academic services


McDonough School of Business

Faculty Research Award: Debora Thompson, assistant professor of business

Joseph F. Le Moine Award for Undergraduate and graduate Teaching Excellence: Edward Soule, associate professor of business

Dean’s Distinguished Service Award: Robin Dillon-Merrill, associate professor of business

Academic Council Professor of the Year Student Choice Award: Robert Bies, professor of business

Peter W. Gonzalez Jr. Award for Excellence in Adjunct Faculty Teaching: William Finnerty, adjunct lecturer

Executive Master’s in Leadership Outstanding Professor Award: Lamar Reinsch, professor of business

Executive MBA Excellence Outstanding Professor Award: Bardia Kamrad, professor of business

School of Continuing Studies

Dean’s Service Award: Arnold Bradford, adjunct faculty for liberal studies; Pablo Molina, adjunct faculty for technology management; and Howard Yoon, adjunct faculty for journalism

Outstanding Master’s in Professional Studies Faculty Award: Roger Staiger, adjunct faculty for real estate; Tiphane Turpin, visiting assistant professor of public relations and corporate communications; and Alisa Parenti, adjunct faculty for journalism

School of Medicine

Leonard Tow Humanism Award in Medicine: Dr. James Duffy, S.J., assistant professor of medicine and assistant dean for clinical education

Kaiser Permanente Awards: Dr. Richard Holt, professor of surgery, and Hiroshi Nakai, professor of biochemistry

Magis inductees: Barbara Bayer, professor and chair of neuroscience; Dr. Steven Epstein, professor and chair of psychiatry; and Dr. Dennis Murphy, associate professor of medicine

Circle Grants: Susan Mulroney, professor of pharmacology; Dr. Yumi Jarris, associate professor of family medicine; Dr. Daisy Lazarous, associate professor of medicine; Dr. Alison Bartleman, assistant professor of family medicine; Aviad Haramati, professor of biochemistry and molecular and cellular biology; Beth Peshkin, senior genetic counselor; Kevin FitzGerald, S.J., research associate professor of clinical bioethics; Dr. Maria Marquez, assistant professor of pediatrics; Dr. Michael Donnelly, assistant professor of internal medicine and pediatrics; and Peg Weissinger, assistant dean for educational assessment

Founders’ Day: Herbert Herscowitz, professor of microbiology and immunology

Georgetown Women in Medicine Eisenberg Awards: Dr. Shawna Willey, associate professor of surgery; Dr. Robin Gross, professor of pulmonary, critical and sleep medicine; Nady Golestaneh, research assistant professor of biochemistry and molecular and cellular biology; and Dr. Ranit Mishori, assistant professor of family medicine

Georgetown Women in Medicine Estelle Ramey Mentorship Award: Dr. Jeanne Mandelblatt, professor of oncology

Georgetown Women in Medicine Outstanding Achievement Award: Dr. Priscilla Furth, professor of oncology

School of Foreign Service

Faculty of the Year Award: Maria Luise Wagner, visiting assistant professor of foreign service

Constantine E. McGuire Medal: Charles King, professor of foreign service

School of Nursing & Health Studies

Outstanding Service Award: Judith Baigis, professor of nursing

Faculty Achievement Award: Z. Jennifer Huang, associate professor of international health, and Alex Theos, assistant professor of human science

Georgetown University37th and O Streets, N.W., Washington D.C. 20057(202) 687.0100

Connect with us via: