Skip to main content

Inaugural Staff/AAP Advisory Council Members Take Office

News Seal


July 18, 2012 – Georgetown’s inaugural Staff/AAP Advisory Council’s 31 members officially took office on July 1 after last month’s election.

The council will hold its first meeting on July 24 and begin determining which members will serve one- or two-year terms in an attempt to stagger the time people remain in office.

After the 2013 council election – and each year thereafter, the open council seats for each campus will have a two-year service term. Council members may be re-elected for a maximum of two consecutive two-year terms.

“There’s been excitement from staff and administrative academic professionals [AAPs] about getting involved with the council,” says Mary Anne Mahin, Georgetown’s vice president and chief human resources officer.

Mahin’s office worked with the election committee and task force responsible for helping to establish the new council on campus.

“When the election committee was planning for voting, there was uncertainty as to whether or not there would be enough nominees to fill all 31 positions,” she says. “But on all four campuses, there were more nominees than the number of allocated seats per campus.

The Law Center had seven nominees for four seats; Main Campus, 37 nominees for 10 seats; the Medical Center, 10 nominees for 8 seats; and for University Services, 17 nominees for 9 seats.

The first members of the Staff/AAP Advisory Council are:

Law Center

  • Anna Selden, associate director of publications and faculty manuscript management

  • Tracey Thomas, law library executive assistant 

  • Simone Woung, senior associate registrar

  • Tina Zimmerman, program director, national security law LL.M. and U.S.-trained students

Main Campus

  • Laura Bishop, academic program officer, Kennedy Center for Ethics

  • Margaret Cerrato, senior administrator, School of Foreign Service-Qatar

  • Meghan Dimsa, assistant director for fitness and wellness

  • Nadim El-Khoury, information technology infrastructure manager, School of Foreign Service-Qatar

  • Rachael Godlove, assistant dean for academic affairs and compliance, School of Continuing Studies

  • Maura Kasper, assistant dean, School of Foreign Service

  • Jennifer Long, associate dean for finance and administration, School of Foreign Service

  • Allison Savoy-Logan, program and financial administrator

  • Sonia Jacobson, assistant, academic affairs

  • Liza Smith, systems and data management analyst, registrar's office

Medical Center

  • Margarita Abaunza, educational coordinator, School of Medicine

  • Samuel Aronson, assistant director, School of Nursing & Health Studies

  • Trudy Bright, deputy director, Office of Sponsored Research

  • Charles Campbell, assistant registrar for student services

  • Maria Teresita Cuna, program manager, Center for Child and Human Development

  • Donna Deardorff, administrator, Center for Child and Human Development

  • Chelsea Lyles, associate administrator and project manager

  • Junfeng Xiao, population science researcher

University Services

  • Yolande Campbell, office manager, advancement services

  • Margo Gottesman, special assistant to the vice president of university facilities and student housing

  • Peter Luger, assistant vice president and chief of staff for university research

  • Johanna Lund, executive assistant, university information services

  • B. Logan McNeil, senior financial officer

  • Tawanna Price, administrator, university facilities

  • George Reese, program coordinator, Office of Human Resources

  • Mary Spring, senior human resources generalist

  • Sam Tsuei, senior database administrator, university information services

Members of the 2012 Staff/AAP Advisory Council Election Committee oversaw the voting. Members of that committee included Brian Boston, Center for New Designs in Learning and Scholarship; Aurilla “Dee Dee” Fusco, of the Law Center’s Office of Advancement; Diana Kassar, School of Medicine; Clare Ogden, School of Foreign Service; Francis Schemel, S.J., Office of Human Resources; Michael Smith, Office of Institutional Diversity, Equity and Affirmative Action; and Melvin Wylie, the Law Center’s facilities department.



Georgetown University37th and O Streets, N.W., Washington D.C. 20057(202) 687.0100

Connect with us via: