Skip to main content


Georgetown Professors Elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Alex Aleinikoff

T. Alexander Aleinikoff

April 25, 2013 – The American Academy of Arts and Sciences has elected as members two Georgetown’ faculty – law professor T. Alexander Aleinikoff and Georgetown Public Policy Institute’s (GPPI) Sen. Richard Lugar (R-Ind.).

The professors are among only 198 new members elected this year to the academy, which also selected actors Robert DeNiro and Sally Field; astronaut and former Sen. John Glenn (D-Ohio); Pulitzer Prize-winning author Annie Dillard, U.S. Poet Laureate Natasha Trethewey; and singer-songwriters Pete Seeger and Bruce Springsteen.

Aleinikoff has served as the United Nations Deputy High Commissioner for Refugees since 2010 and remains on faculty at Georgetown. He also served as executive vice president for Law Center affairs and was dean of the Law Center from 2004-2010.

Lugar became a visiting distinguished professor in GPPI this spring after serving six terms as a U.S. senator from 1977 to 2013.

“I am deeply honored to be elected to membership of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences,” Lugar says. “This membership gives me strong encouragement to work with other academy members in scholarship and constructive action to establish and achieve new levels of world nutrition, energy efficiency, economic integrity and transparency and control and elimination of weapons of mass destruction.”

Richard Lugar

Sen. Richard Lugar (R-Ind.)

As the longest serving Indiana congressman, he was the ranking Republican leader of the Foreign Relations Committee and a member and former chair of the Agriculture, Nutrition and Forestry Committee.

Established in 1780 by the nation’s founders, the academy is a leading center for independent policy research.

Its current membership of more than 4,600 includes leaders from academia, business, public affairs, the humanities and the arts, as well as more than 250 Nobel laureates and more than 60 Pulitzer Prize winners.

“Election to the Academy honors individual accomplishment and calls upon members to serve the public good,” says Academy President Leslie Berlowitz. “We look forward to drawing on the knowledge and expertise of these distinguished men and women to advance solutions to the pressing policy challenges of the day.”

This year’s class will be inducted in an Oct. 12 ceremony in Cambridge, Mass.

Georgetown law professor Louis Michael Seidman was elected to the academy in 2011.


Georgetown University37th and O Streets, N.W., Washington D.C. 20057(202) 687.0100

Connect with us via: