Skip to main content

Ninth Scholar Elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

David J. Luban “Georgetown has been the perfect place for my scholarship to flourish - so much so that I can't really say it's mine," says David J. Luban, law professor and the most recent Georgetown scholar elected to the prestigious American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

April 24, 2014 – Law Center professor David J. Luban is the ninth scholar at Georgetown to be elected since the early 1990s to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (AAAS), one of the nation’s most prestigious honorary societies.

Luban is among 204 newly elected members this year that include Booker Prize winner A. S. Byatt, Pulitzer Prize winners Jules Feiffer and Annie Proulx, actor and director Al Pacino and a host of academics.

Established in 1780, AAAS is a leading center for independent policy research.

Perfect for Scholarship

“Naturally, I am thrilled to join the company of so many people I admire,” Luban says. “Georgetown has been the perfect place for my scholarship to flourish - so much so that I can't really say it's mine. All my ideas were worked out in innumerable conversations with my wonderful colleagues and students, and this honor belongs to them just as much as to me.”

A University Professor of Law and Philosophy at Georgetown, Luban is a leader in the fields of legal ethics, just war theory and international criminal law. His books include Legal Ethics and Human Dignity (Cambridge University Press, 2007) and the forthcoming Torture, Power, and Law (Cambridge University Press, 2014).

Luban has testified before both houses of the U.S. Congress on the torture debate.  He previously served as co-director of Georgetown Law's Center for Transnational Legal Studies in London and its Center on National Security and Law. 

The law professor now serves as Distinguished Visitor in Ethics at the United States Naval Academy's Stockdale Center for Ethical Leadership and has been a Guggenheim fellow as well as a fellow of the Woodrow Wilson Center and the Institute for Advanced Studies.

Other Georgetown Members

Georgetown law professor T. Alexander Aleinikoff, now the United Nations deputy high commissioner for refugees, was elected to AAAS last year.

Other Georgetown AAAS members include President John J. DeGioia and Provost Robert Groves (both in 2010); law professor Louis Michael Seidman (2011); Law Center Dean Emeritus Robert Pitofsky (2000); neurology professor Elissa L. Newport(2001); theology and university professor John W. O’Malley (1995); and Donald F. McHenry (1992), distinguished professor in practice and policy.

This year’s class will be inducted during a ceremony on Oct. 11, 2014 at the academy’s headquarters in Cambridge, Mass.

Georgetown University37th and O Streets, N.W., Washington D.C. 20057(202) 687.0100

Connect with us via: