Skip to main content

News & Events

Notable Happenings from The Office of the President

Honoring Georgetown's Captains and Coaches

Captains and Coaches Dinner 2012

Following her remarks, Dr. DeGioia presented Monica McNutt with a tray featuring Healy Hall to honor her contributions

March 29, 2012– Georgetown's captains and coaches across all Athletics programs were honored at a dinner in Riggs Library March 29, which celebrated the achievements and contributions of student athlete leaders and their coaches within the University community.

The evening included reflections from former student athlete, Monica McNutt (C ’11),  who led the women’s basketball team to a Sweet 16 appearance last year. McNutt offered reflections on her year as a former captain. Currently she writes a weekly blog in the Washington Post on athletics in higher education.

Dr. DeGioia thanked the athletes and coaches for bringing out “the best in your teammates, in your fellow students, and in our community” as they “worked to become your very best selves… the very best athletes you could be.”

Georgetown Honors the 10th anniversary of the U.S. - Afghan women's council with secretary clinton and Mrs. Bush

Dr. DeGioia at State Department with Clinton and Bush

Dr. DeGioia presented awards to Mrs. Clinton and Mrs. Bush at the 10th Anniversary luncheon for the U.S.-Afghan Women's Council at the Department of State

March 21, 2012–Secretary of State Hillary Clinton and former First Lady Laura Bush were honored with lifetime achievement awards by Georgetown University to mark their contribution to women and children in Afghanistan and around the world March 21. Dr. DeGioia presented the awards to the two former First Ladies at a U.S. Department of State luncheon, also marking the 10th anniversary of the U.S.-Afghan Women Council.

Secretary Clinton received the Caring for Children Lifetime Achievement Award from Georgetown’s Center for Child and Human Development (CCHD). The Caring for Children Lifetime Award is bestowed upon individuals with contributions to serving vulnerable children. Past recipients include Dr. C. Everett Koop, Rosslynn Carter, and George Soros.

Former First Lady Bush received the Champion for Afghan Women award from the U.S.-Afghan Women’s Council, which is homed at the CCHD under the leadership of Dr. Phyllis Magrab.  The Council is a public-private partnership created under the Bush administration in 2002 with current Afghanistan President Hamid Karzai. Mrs. Bush has served as an honorary advisor to the Council since its inception. The Center has established scholarships, literacy programs, and a burn center in Kabul among many other initiatives.

In his remarks during the award honoring, Dr. DeGioia reiterated the University's commitment to the work of advancing women and children around the world. He said, "We will continue to expand on this decade of dedicated work, deepening our commitment to creating broader opportunities for Afghan women and children."

To learn more about the U.S.-Afghan Women's Council please click here.

Read the full story of the lifetime award given to the Former First Ladies at this link

A georgetown Tradition: Spring Faculty Convocation 

Georgetown University - Small Gold Seal


March 20, 2012–The Spring Faculty Convocation honored Georgetown’s Vicennial Medalists and new inductees to the University's 1789 Society March 20. The Vicennial Medalists are faculty and staff members who have served the University for 20 years.

Dr. Phyllis R. Magrab, Director of the Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, gave the annual "Life of Leaning" remarks, reflecting on her more than four decades of service at Georgetown.  She addressed the faculty saying, “For me it has been the rich associations with colleagues across the campuses that has shaped my thinking, given me moral courage, and inspired my scholarship.”

The 1789 Society honors Georgetown's most committed alumni.

The event’s honorees included:

Vicennial Medalists
Gold Medalists
James J. Angel, Hope M. Babcock, Randall J. Bass, James N. Baraniuk, Katherine S. Bellows, Marisa C. Brown, Jeffrey R. Collmann, Anthony E. Cook, Diana R. Donahoe, Carol R. Dover,  Svetlana Grenier, Leena A. Hilakivi-Clarke, Jennifer C. Hunt, Wayne M. Hurr, Donna M. Jasinski, Bardia Kamrad, Mark N. Lance, Catherine D. Langlois, Ronald P. Leow, Janet Mann, John L. Marshall, Susan Mulroney, Diana M. Owen, Peter C. Pfeiffer, Terrence P. Reynolds, Mark C. Rome, Dean S. Rosenthal, Aviel I. Roshwald, Henry J. Schwarz, Alexander Sens, Richard K. Squier, Pierre S. Taminiaux, Robin L. West, Linda E. Wetzel.

Silver Medalists:
Douglas W. Charnas, David B. Cubeta, Warren Dean, Sarah C. Marshall, Marc Rotenberg, Samuel P. Starr, V. Rev. Constantine White.

1789 Society Inductees
Joseph and Lisa Amato
Abigail and Joseph Baratta
Mr. and Mrs. Lee M Bass
Dr. and Mrs. Robert E. Fuisz, M.D.
Elizabeth and Peter C. Keenoy
Anna-Maria and Stephen Kellen Foundation
Mr. Andrew Gundlach and Mr. Michael KellenMr. and Mrs. Robert Bernard Nolan, Jr.
Mrs. Aline O'Connor
Waltruaud E. Prechter
World Heritage Foundation-Prechter Family Fund
Marina Shields Purcell and Thomas William Purcell Jr.
David K. Reyes
The Francis and Kathleen Rooney Foundation
The Honorable and Mrs. L. Francis Rooney
Mrs. Kara Gaffney Ross and Mr. Stephen M. Ross
The John Shea Family


February 2012

January 2012

December 2011

November 2011

October 2011

September 2011


Georgetown University37th and O Streets, N.W., Washington D.C. 20057(202) 687.0100

Connect with us via: